Review: Four Green Smoothies by Fern Green

Review: Four Green Smoothies by Fern Green, groene sapjes, jemssparkles, healthy

by Mary-Sue

For a while now I have been quite into green smoothies. It is a way for me to get some more veggies into my diet without too much effort. The juices, however, were getting a bit monotonous as I only knew recipes that were based on spinach. In search of a bit more variety I bought the book “Groene Sapjes” (English title: Green Smoothies) by Fern Green.

At the bookstore I flipped through the pages and noticed that all the recipes were simple and self-explanatory. Every recipe has two pages; on the left hand side the ingredients are spelled out in pictures and in words, and on the right hand side it states what the benefits are and holds a picture of the colorful green smoothie itself. Easy peasy lemon squezy.

Now I tried four different kinds of green smoothies and I have to say I didn’t really like them. So why am I doing a blog post about them, you may ask? Because maybe YOU might like them and they ARE really healthy. I’d have to emphasize that these smoothies are probably for the more advanced green smoothie drinker as they taste less sweet, more savoury.

I hope some of you foodies out there benefit from this post and if you do try some of these, please let me know in the comments below what you think :)!

NOTE: I made these juices with a blender but they ought to be made with a juicer. This might be part of why I’m not all “hail these juices.”

Review: Four Green Smoothies by Fern Green, groene sapjes, jemssparkles, healthyPurple Ginger Juice. Tastes: Sweet
Benefits: Boosts metabolism, enriches the blood. Supposedly perfect before sporting.
1 beet
2 oranges
25 grams of ginger

To say I ‘like’ this is a big word, but it’s very doable.

Review: Four Green Smoothies by Fern Green, groene sapjes, jemssparkles, healthyBerry-Juice. Tastes: Sweet
Benefits: enriches blood, anti-inflammatory, stimulates digestion.
2 handfuls of blueberries
2 handfuls of blackberries
2 basil leaves
2 beets

I thought this was fine, the beets do have a very dominant taste though.

Review: Four Green Smoothies by Fern Green, groene sapjes, jemssparkles, healthyInsalat-Juice. Tasts: Savoury
Benefits: strengthens immune system, lowers blood pressure.
½ lemon
1 green pepper
1 beet
2 stems of celery
3 radishes
½ cucumber
1 spoonful of olive oil

I thought this was literally like drinking a salad. Really not prepared for this one.

Review: Four Green Smoothies by Fern Green, groene sapjes, jemssparkles, healthyDetoxer. Tastes: a little bit sweet
Benefits: Good for the skin, strengthens muscles and bones.
¼ green cabbage
1 red apple
2 stems of celery
¼ of Galia melon

‘Tastes a little bit sweet’ my ass. Not a fan.

Now it might be a bit too premature to discommend this book, since four smoothies out of dozens is not a fair sample. Therefore I will soon be trying some more recipes and upload my thoughts on those.

Please leave us a comment below!

