Musical Therapy: India Arie Inspired

India Arie, Inspirational Music, Musical Therapy

by Mary-Sue

“I was always too concerned about what everybody would think. But I can’t live for everybody, I gotta live my life for me.”

Whenever I am in need of  some encouragement to uplift my mood, I turn to music. Especially India Arie’s music has a positive, inspirational power. She sings about life’s struggles that everyone goes through and gives new ways to look at them. Her lyrics are honest, genuine and heartfelt, and resonate with me throughout my whole being. I think the overall message of her music is that you can choose happiness. “Paradise is in your mind.” I’ve written an extinsive blogpost about mindfulness, that goes a bit further into detail about how you can choose happiness by choosing your thoughts. To read it click HERE.

I advice you to play the numbers below and really listen to what she’s singing. Guaranteed you will be forced to think and reconsider the “truth” to your thoughts.

Just For Today:

“Just for today, I will not worry what tomorrow may bring, no.”
“Although, I have the best intentions, can’t predict anyone’s reactions, so I just do my best.”
“I’m going to swallow my pride, and be who I am, and I don’t care who don’t like it.”

Break The Shell:

“She said shadows make you whole. A life without pain is a wolf in sheep’s clothes”
“Life’s gonna hurt but it’s meant to be felt”

I Choose

“I was always too concerned about what everybody would think. But I can’t live for everybody, I gotta live my life for me.”
“My past don’t dictate who I am. I choose.”

There’s Hope

“So you act, so you feel, so you are”
“He taught me paradise is in your mind”

 

 

Please leave us a comment below!

